Some Things Make Me Smile

There are some things that just make me smile. This one is for you my grace-gladdened, truth-loving bride (Prov. 31:28-30)!

2 responses to “Some Things Make Me Smile

  1. Billy,
    I’ve seen this before and it also makes me smile every time. I think I understand it more now than I did when I first saw it. 🙂 Thanks for posting it for our enjoyment too!
    ~Rachel

  2. Haha! I’ve never seen that before. My favorite part is when he says “She’s got a tattoo that says ‘I love John Piper’ in Greek. Good stuff.

    And, ironically, this actually made me think seriously a little bit. I was surprised that he chose Romans 8:28-30 as opposed to a passage in ch. 9, specifically somewhere between vv. 14-24.

    So, I looked (in my ESV no less) at Rom. 8:28-30, because I knew somewhere in there the phrase “predestined TO BE CONFORMED…” was in there. And I had known that ‘predestined’ (a misleading term, since in itself it has nothing to do with ‘destination’) in that passage wasn’t talking directly about election. Then the big picture hit me. “Predestined to be conformed…” has to do with perseverance of the saints, which he then ties into election with the “called…justified…glorified.” So I learned something. Even though 9 is more specific about the election part, 8:28-30 is sort of like Cliff’s Notes on the whole system. Kind of.

    That was really long, but I thought you’d be interested to know that.

    -Eric

Leave a Reply

