Reading the Bible Like a Pilgrim

It is now mid-February and without actually asking anyone, I am assuming from experience that roughly half of you who enthusiastically started off the year on a daily Bible reading schedule, have now fallen short of the goal or even quietly abandoned the quest for one reason or another.

As Christians, we are pilgrims on a journey home. The Bible is God’s voice to us on the way. Are you distracted by the trivial things of life or discouraged by the mundane? Let the setiments of John Wesley refocus our perspective for eternity and stir up our desire for all that God’s Word promises will be ours in the consumation:

“I am a spirit come from God, and returning to God: just hovering over a great gulf; till, a few moments hence, I am no more seen; I drop into an unchangeable eternity! I want to know one thing – the way to heaven:…God himself has condescended to teach the way: for this very end he came from heaven. He hath written it down in a book. O give me that book! At any price, give me the book of God! I have it: here is knowledge enough for me. Let me be homo unius libri (a man of one Book). Here then I am, far from the busy ways of men. I sit down alone: only God is here. In his presence I open, I read his book; for this end, to find the way to heaven.” quoted by John Stott, Between Two Worlds, p. 32.

Since I have also had periods of inconsistency in my Bible reading through the years, I am sympathetic to your stumblings and shortcomings and I want to encourage you to pick back up and keep going. You don’t have to start over completely. I would recommend following the link that I have supplied on the side of this blog and just keep going with the passages listed for today.

2 responses to “Reading the Bible Like a Pilgrim

  1. I started D.A. Carson’s reading plan at the beginning of the year and have continued to follow it. I have found it to be probably the best reading plan I’ve ever done. I recommend it as well to others!! Thanks for introducing me to it, Billy!
    ~Rachel

Leave a Reply

