Inexpressible Excellency of Jesus

I continue to be greatly edified by my study of Christology in preparation for my trip to Zambia this May. I sense the reality of the desire of the apostle Paul

“that I may know him and the power of his resurrection, and may share in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, that by any means possible I may attain the resurrection from the dead.” (Phil. 3:10-11)

Our congregation learned a new song this past Lord’s Day called “All I Have Is Christ” and my prayer is that this may continue to become the reality of our congregational lives together. In the same vein of thought, I was encouraged by this reading from The Diary and Journal of David Brainerd today that I thought I would share with you. During a time of worship and corporate singing, he made this observation:

While we were singing, there was one…who, I may venture to say, if I may be allowed to say so much of any person I ever saw, was ‘filled with joy unspeakable and full of glory,’ and could not but burst forth in prayer and praises to God before us all, with many tears, crying sometimes in English and sometimes in Indian: ‘O blessed Lord, do come, do come! Oh, do take me away, do let me die and go to Jesus Christ! I am afraid if I live I shall sin again!

Brainerd continued:

When she had recovered herself, I asked her if Christ was not now sweet to her soul. Whereupon, turning to me with tears in her eyes and with all the tokens of deep humility I ever saw in any person, she said: ‘I have many times heard you speak of the goodness and the sweetness of Christ, that He was better than all the world. But oh! I knew nothing what you meant, I never believed you! I never believed you! But now I know it is true!’ Or words to that effect. I answered, ‘And do you see enough in Christ for the greatest of sinners?’ She replied, ‘Oh! enough, enough! for all the sinners in the world if they would but come.’

Jesus told the experts in the Law who remained unaffected by their knowledge that “You search the Scriptures because you think that in them you have eternal life; and it is these that bear witness about me” (John 5:39). May God grant that we would enjoy the same sweet consolation of the Holy Spirit in our knowledge of the person of Christ.

Leave a Reply

