What Do I Do (And Why Do I Do It)?

“Are you so foolish? Having begun by the Spirit, are you now being perfected by the flesh?” (Gal. 3:3)

Often times questions arise about what we are to do if we want to grow in grace and mature in our Christian lives.

More than that, when we realize (1) our sanctification is entirely a work of God’s grace and (2) our own fleshy efforts at self-improvment are funtamentally misguided and ineffective, questions arise about how our efforts relate to God’s work in us.

Is my spiritual success up to me or up to God? If God is at work in me should I “let go, and let God” as the popular saying goes, or am I called upon to strive and work also? What does it look like to walk by faith?

On this topic, I will be reading the June book of the month, Discipline of Grace by Jerry Bridges. The subtitle is “God’s Role and Our Role in the Pursuit of Holiness.” Bridges is a classic author in Christian spirituality and some of you may like to read it along with me.

Leave a Reply

