Love With Shoe Leather

Since love not only talks the talk but also walks the walk, here is an excerpt from Jerry Bridges’ book, Discipline of Grace, which is an attempt to put love into action from 1 Cor. 13:4-5:

  • I am patient with you because I love you and want to forgive you.
  • I am kind to you because I love you and want to help you.
  • I do not envy your possessions or your gifts because I love you and want you to have the best.
  • I do not boast about my attainments because I love you and want to hear about yours.
  • I am not rude because I love you and care about your feelings.
  • I am not self-seeking because I love you and want to meet your needs.
  • I am not easily angered by you because I love you and want to overlook your offenses.
  • I do not keep a record of your wrongs because I love you, and ‘love covers a multitude of sins.’
Leave a Reply

