Just One Thing, O Lord

Our congregation is currently prayerfully pursuing the purchase of a building. As I have been praying for the leadership of the Holy Spirit and the wisdom of God in this matter, I have been again reminded of God’s desire that we would be truly satisfied in him in every circumstance. As we pursue good things (such as a facility to meet in), we are to always see the greater goodness of God from whom all good things come. The Scripture that reminded me of that truth this morning is Psalm 27:4:

“One thing have I asked of the LORD, that I will seek after: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD and to inquire in his temple.”

I have many things that I ask the Lord for with faith and that I labor for with hope, but my heart is again reminded by the single-mindedness of the Psalmist that there is truly only one desire that surpasses all others. The presence of the Lord is a truly blessed fellowship indeed!

Leave a Reply

