Resolved To Be Given Over to God in 2011

With New Year’s Eve upon us it is worth taking the time to reevaluate the way the year has gone and to set goals for the year to come. You might want to think about your Bible reading or prayer habits. Or maybe you want to set a goal regarding showing more hospitality or getting more involved in serving others. Maybe you have a particular sin that the Lord is convicting you of and you need to focus on putting that off for the glory of God. Maybe you need to grow stronger in your understanding of Christian doctrine or to work on restoring a broken relationship. Whatever it is I would encourage you to take on the spirit of the Apostle Paul who said:

“Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own. Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.” (Phil. 3:12-14)

I don’t know what New Year’s resolutions you might have but I can tell you that one of mine is very well summed up in the following video. Years ago I had a man comment on the strong godly character of my wife and he remarked to me that he thought that she would storm the gates of hell with me if she was called upon to do it. Looking back on that comment now, I can see that he was more right than he could have known at the time. Truly, God could not have blessed me with a greater companion for life. But then, I remember that every wife and every family needs a husband and father that will prove himself to be valient for them. In light of my own failings, here is a good song and a good reminder of this truth. What kind of man will I be today?

Here is the story behind the song.

HT: Founders Blog

Leave a Reply

