Where Are the Brakes On My Mouth?!

Sometimes we need help learning how to hit the brakes on an argument that appears to be starting, or has already started and is clearly going nowhere good.  Stop and think, “Are my words truly in service of Christ or really just my idols?” “Am I speaking truth with lots of love or spouting off my desires and my opinions with lots of emotion?”

Furthermore, you might ask yourself the simple question: “What am I really going to gain by pushing this conversation further at this time?” Consider the following wise Scripture:

“For pressing milk produces curds, pressing the nose produces blood, and pressing anger produces strife.” (Prov. 30:33)

If you lay on your horn, don’t be surprised if it beeps. If you lay into your friend, spouse, co-worker, or child…well, you ought to know what comes next.

As I think about my own sinful heart and as I prepare to preach on James 3:1-12, I am acutely aware of the reality that “we all stumble in many ways” (3:2), especially with our words. One of the great things about the gospel, however, is that it is a message (words) about Christ (the Word) in whom our words (along with the rest of us) are redeemed.  Outside of Christ, our throats emit filth like an open grave (Rom. 3:13). But in Christ, our mouths are renewed to be fountains of grace to those who hear (Eph. 4:29). My God’s renewing grace help you in this way today.

 

Leave a Reply

