One Reason I Love the Doctrines of Grace

One reason I love the doctrines of God’s sovereign grace in Christ, is because I am growing to be more of a realist about the seriousness of my sin problem without Christ. So I am growing more thankful for the remedy that God brought to me in Christ. Truly “salvation belongs to the Lord” (Ps. 3:8).

“Sin being what it is, it would be useless to have salvation lie ready at hand unless it were also applied to us. Inasmuch as we are dead in trespasses and sins, it would do us no good to have a wonderful life-giving potion laid next to us in our coffin. It would do us good only if someone actually administered the portion to us.” Cornelius Van Til, The Defense of the Faithp. 39-40.

One response to “One Reason I Love the Doctrines of Grace

  1. I once heard a preacher say that not only is the patient (us before Christ) dead, but he hates the medicine and the doctor who prescribed it! Praise God for the gospel of sovereign grace!

Leave a Reply

